Posted in primrose saddle

Love Wins on the Last Day of the Love Month

I did it. I finally let it out. I told my parents I am in a relationship with another girl. It was not smooth at all which I already expected. Getting out of the closet to your parents is not a piece of cake. I lamely messaged my mom and said I am a bisexual since I do not have the guts to say it personally. When I hit that send button, I was fretting and jittery. It took several minutes before she answered and asked to talk to me in the middle of a working day. Of course I said yes, dropping everything on my plate that day, and face what seems to be my Judgment Day. She told my dad about it, so the three of us talked.

They asked me questions, they said their part, and I said mine. They are calm the whole time, I think. I am grateful on the way they seem to accept things, although there’s still hesitation and disappointment on their voice. But I do not hold it against them. I know they are still processing everything, and taking in my big revelation. If this is not easy for me, it is worse for them.

Nonetheless, I am still glad that after all these years I finally said it to them. Somehow I feel free. This is only a start, and there will be more adversities I must face. But I am strong with my family by my side. I will continue to hold on to what my mom said:

“You will always be my daughter no matter what. I love you! I will always be here for you.”

Author:

A girl who's zodiac sign is Cancer, and has a rainbow-colored tail. She does not believe in magic but miracles.

Leave a Reply

