Posted in charles dickens

Meeting the Boss (#4)

First Part: Three Bottles of Beer, Six Shots of Tequila (#1)

Second Part: The Yellow Umbrella (#2)

Third Part: Worst Hangover (#3)

Here’s the fourth part:

 

“You gotta be kidding me? Why is he here? Is he the owner? Is he my boss? Is this a dream? A hangover dream!”

 Dina shut her eyes real hard trying to wake up from what she thought was just a dream when his voice echoed in the office again.

“How is everybody?”, he still got his smile on.

This wakes Dina’s bewildered spirit. She walked towards him silently and abruptly.

“Apologies for my curtsy, Mr. Danny….”, There is an awkward long pause. “Oh my God! What’s his last name again? Maine? Sawyer?”

 “It’s Danny Mayer, actually. What’s up Dina? Why the sudden formality, and “curtsy”? Really?”, Danny laughed and Dina felt red and irritated. The other people in the room looked at each other wordlessly, then all eyes are pointed at Dina. Everyone is still puzzled, more than she is probably.

“I hate that he’s too confident! I’m still confused.”

 “Anyway, Mr. Mayer. I am Dina Curtis. I am the Project Manager for the rehabilitation of the restaurant. It’s very nice to have you today.”, she reached her hand for a shake.

He received her welcomingly. “I have to apologize if this seemed sudden to you and your team.”

“No worries, you can always come here. So, how can we help you?”

“I want to discuss to you about the timeline. I expected Chey to fill you in. I hope she did.”

“Of course, I spoke to her earlier. Do you mind taking this to my office?”

“Sure.”, Danny smiled and followed Dina to her office. Everybody else followed with their gaze.

 

She walked across the room and gestured Danny to his seat. When he was seated, she sat across from him. There is a table between them but it seems like he can feel how nervous she is.

Danny scanned the room. She looked at him intently. He has a suit on and his hair is fixed and not in a bad way. He looked like a real man and handsome, apart from earlier that morning. “Why does he serve as a waiter in the bar if he owns a restaurant? Why am I nervous now? I can’t believe that the guy who sees my worst drunken night is my boss.” She was distracted from her thoughts when she saw his lips moving, making a way to speak. But she barely heard him.

“Pardon me?”

“I said, you look well compared to this morning.”, smiling.

She blushed. Her silent prayer of this topic not to be brought up is shuttered.

“Okay, so we have to talk about that. If you don’t mind, Mr. Mayer, can we be professional here and talk about the project?”

“Danny. Just call me Danny.”

“Alright, Danny. Whatever happened last night, let’s leave it at the bar. And this morning, thank you for the umbrella. It was gentleman of you. I apologize if I was rude but you understand why I’m pissed, right?”

“Maybe.”, he smiled again teasingly.

“Can we move on now?”

“You seem to try.”

“Excuse me?”

“Nothing.”, he changed his mood from being foolish to business man real quick. “Anyway, about the project. I am disappointed with the delay based on your report as submitted to me through Chey. Two weeks behind is critical on this stage.”

“I know. That’s why we are working twice as hard for the past couple of days to keep up.”

“Forgive me but I have to ask.”, Danny said hesitantly.

“What?”

“Is your personal life affecting your work? If it does, please get yourself together. I want the restaurant operational in a month.”

For the nth time today Dina felt embarrassed. And now ashamed.

“Danny, if you reviewed my report you should have known that the project was delayed because the supplier of materials, which according to Chey was requested by the Owner, did not meet our agreed schedule of delivery. And just to inform you, I am 100% on board with this project regardless of whatever is happening in my personal life.”

“I officially hate this guy! He thinks that I cannot do my job just because he saw me in a bar drinking? That does not define me. And he acts like he knows everything about the construction when this is only the first time he ever visited the site! His arrogance will not be hidden by his fancy clothes, not as much as the gorgeous body peeking in there! Oooops. ”

“Good to know. So with the current standing, can we make it in a month?”

“Yes!”, she said sharply.

“Great! That’s what I need to confirm from you.”, he smiled again and looked at his wrist watch.

“Dina, I have to go now. I still have work to do. I’ll just see you tomorrow?”

“Tomorrow?”, she replied with her lips in a thin line.

“Yeah! I’ll be here. I want to look around, I just can’t today.”

“Sure. I’ll see you then.”

“Good. Unless I see you earlier?”

“What does he mean, earlier?” He seemed to have read her mind.

“Just in case you drop by at the bar.”, Danny said with a grin while standing up. “I really have to go. Thank you, Dina.”, he reached his hand.

She shook it, also standing up.

“I can show myself out. Bye.” Danny left the room.

“Why did I say yes to one month? I can’t do it, that’s impossible. And Danny is something else. I don’t know why he has this effect on me. He’s strange, and he’s the worst! I know he thinks less of me. I will prove to him that I am better than that. I am a great engineer! He’ll see it!”

 

Dina called every one of her staff to her office for an emergency meeting to strategize and create a catch-up plan for the project. In the middle of their heated discussion, a cellphone rang.

“Whose phone is that? You can answer it outside.”, Dina looked at them unhappily.

Jane, her secretary replied and raised the phone, “Ma’am, it’s coming from here.”. She reached the phone to Dina.

She looked at the screen, it reads that the call is from a certain “MOM”.

“Whose phone is this?”, nobody answered her so she pressed send.

“Hello?”

“Hi, Dina! It’s Danny. I left my phone in your office. Do you mind? Can you take it to the bar later? I am just so busy right now, I can’t manage to go back there. Please?”, there’re car noises on the background. It sounds like he’s walking on the street.

“Sure.”, she said shortly.

“Thank you very much. I owe you one. Bye.”, Danny hangs up.

Author:

A girl who's zodiac sign is Cancer, and has a rainbow-colored tail. She does not believe in magic but miracles.

Leave a Reply

